The ISST invites submissions for the Founder’s Prize for New Scholars, which recognizes outstanding critical or creative work by an emerging academic or artist. The prize is given in memory of J. T. Fraser, Founder of the International Society for the Study of Time, who was instrumental in fostering the careers of many emerging timesmiths.

The prize-winning essay will be selected from essays written for presentation at the triennial conference in Yamaguchi, July 2-7, 2023. Submitted essays may be longer or more fully developed versions of conference presentations, which are limited to 20 minutes. Submissions will be evaluated for the original contribution they make to the study of time, with some preference given to interdisciplinary work. 

In addition to a $250 award, the prize-winning essay will be published in either a special conference edition of KronoScope: Journal for the Study of Time or the conference volume The Study of Time XVIII, whichever the writer prefers.

Eligibility: Those submitting work must be presenting their work at the conference, and they must have completed the terminal degree in their field within the past four years or be currently pursuing a graduate degree.

Deadline: June 23, 2023.

Email submissions as attachments to the Executive Secretary

Previous winners:

  • Rose Harris-Birtill (2016) for “‘Looking down time’s telescope at myself’: reincarnation and global futures in David Mitchell’s fictional worlds”
  • Orit Hilewicz (2013) for “Tracing Space in Time: Morton Feldman’s Rothko Chapel
  • Vincent Masse (2010) for “Golden Past and Eschatological Future – Religious Exoticism in the Writings of Guillaume Postel (1510-1580)”
  • Carlos Montemayor (2007) for “Time: Biological, International and Cultural”

* No winner was awarded in 2019